ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Sorry, this content is restricted

ICAEW Past Presidents 1880-2005

In 1990, the respected accounting historian Peter Boys prepared a series of chronological lists charting the Presidents, Vice Presidents and Deputy Presidents of ICAEW. In December 2005 Peter updated the article and listings as an analysis of presidents at the time of the 125th anniversary of ICAEW.


Peter Boys BA FCA graduated from the University of Kent at Canterbury with a first-class honours degree in Accounting. He spent five years with Touche Ross & Co. before becoming a lecturer in accounting at his former University. In 1990 he wrote Chartered Accountants' Hall - the first hundred years. Peter Boys retired in 1999. He has contributed numerous articles to Accountancy, and is especially interested in the history of the accountancy profession.