ICAEW Birmingham and West Midlands Annual General Meeting – Monday, 20 May 2019

Minutes of the 137 th Annual General Meeting held on Monday, 20 May 2019 at The Indian Brewery, Birmingham at 5.15pm	
Present: Clive Bawden (Chair)	
Committee: Celia Adams, John Bezzant, Amy Burton, Linda Conway, Andrew Coulson, Sophie Dale-Black, Craig Edmondson, Jon Gilpin, Gemma Jones, Barry Matthews, Sheilagh Moffat, Sam Phipps, Ben Powell, Louise Rudd and Becci Salari.	
Additional members: Will Buggey, Lori Colloby, William Francis, Gerrard Halligan, Khuram Javed, Gareth Jones, Vishali Puri, Mitch Webb and Elizabeth Whitfield.	
Non-member guests: Raj Baden, Matt Jenkins, Louise O'Donoghue and Naomi Watts.	
1. NOTICE The notice convening the meeting was taken as read.	
2. APOLOGIES Helen Drew, Storme Durose, Tracey James, Chris Key, Jasbir Khela, Andeep Mangal, Steph Mersh and Vipul Sheth.	
3. MINUTES Minutes of the 136 th Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday, 9 May 2018 were approved.	
4. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS	
Clive introduced the Society's 2018 draft Financial Statements, the annual expense were lower than usual due to not having an Annual Dinner. Clive proposed the adoption of the Annual Accounts and the resolution, Amy Burton seconded the proposal which was unanimously approved by all those present. The Financial Statements to be signed by	
the Independent Examiner, President and Treasurer and posted on the website.	LC
5. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS In accordance with amended Rule 7 six members of the Committee retired at the Annual General Meeting.	
These were Helen Drew, Fiona Forster, Tracey James, Andeep Mangal, Barry Matthews and Vipul Sheth. Fiona, Barry and Andeep did not want to be re-elected so retired from the Committee. Sheilagh Moffat would also be retiring from the Committee once her term on Council concluded in June.	
On behalf of the Committee, Clive thanked these members for all the work they had done for the Society over the many years. He especially thanked Barry Matthews and Sheilagh Moffat who had both been committee members for the last 29 years and both served on Council.	
It was proposed that Helen Drew, Tracey James and Vipul Sheth be re-elected on to the Committee. Gemma Jones seconded the proposal which was then unanimously approved by all those present.	
Nominations for the Committee had been received from Khuram Javed, Chris Key and Ben Powell. Clive proposed that all three be elected, Amy Burton seconded the proposal and the Committee unanimously agreed.	
6. INDEPENDENT EXAMINERS	
Clive proposed that a vote of thanks be passed to the Society's Independent Examiner J W Hinks, this was seconded by Amy Burton and unanimously agreed by all those	

present. Amy reported that J W Hinks had agreed to be elected as the Independent Examiner of the Society for the forthcoming year.	
7. CLOSURE	
The AGM closed at 5.24pm.	