## THE SOUTH WALES SOCIETY OF CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS



Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Held on Friday 25 May 2020 at 09:30 am via Zoom video conferencing.

1. Chair's welcome

Nick Rowe opened the meeting and thanked members and guests present for attending. Nick noted that given the circumstances following the ongoing pandemic, this year's meeting would be shorter than a traditional AGM as we would be dispensing with the customary speeches.

- 2. Apologies for absence received from members of the SWSCA Committee: None
- To confirm the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday, 6 May 2020

The minutes were accepted as an accurate record of proceedings.

- To receive and adopt receive the Honorary Treasurer's Statement of Accounts, duly audited for the year ended 31 December 2020.
   The accounts were approved.
- To retire and reappointment of the Honorary Independent Examiner.
   It was agreed to reappoint Carstons Chartered Accountants (Cardiff) as the Honorary Independent Examiner.
- 6. To approve the formal closure of the Cardiff & District Branch, the Gwent & Powys Branch and the Swansea & West Wales Branch with any surplus funds on a branch bank account to be transferred to the Society bank account and used as deemed appropriate by the Society committee.

  So approved.
- To receive propositions and notices of motion None received
- 8. To inform the Society of the appointment by the Committee of the President, Deputy President and Vice President for 2021/22

It was noted that the Committee had determined in the light of the pandemic that the current office holders should remain in office until 31 October 2020 by which time it is hoped that the pandemic will have abated and the new office holders can establish a new programme for the Society. Those taking office on 1 November 2020, who will remain in office until the Annual General Meeting in May 2022 are:

President: Nick Rowe
Deputy President: Jared Davies
Vice President: Mark Etchells
Immediate Past President: Anne Smith

- To inform the Society of the current members of the Society Committee As per the circulated agenda
- 10. AOB None