ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

President's prize candidates for Northern Society dinner

This year sees the inaugural ‘Presidents' Award’ for Northern Society of Chartered Accountants best performing students in the Professional and Advanced stages of the ICAEW exams 2014.

This will be awarded to one student at Professional Stage and one student at Advanced Stage who have demonstrated both:-

  • Academic excellence, by finishing in the top 20 of highest overall marks in the Northern Society Order of Merit; and
  • Made an exceptional contribution to their firm/organisation by their professionalism, business acumen, teamwork or to the Northern Society or wider general community.

The judges (Past President Andrew Jackson, Michael McGregor President of the Newcastle upon Tyne Law Society and myself) met recently to consider the citations for the awards that had been received from the Qualified Person Responsible for Training (QPRT) at the students' firm/organisation.

We have had a tremendous response with the judge’s finding it difficult to agree a shortlist and eventual winners, such was the quality of the students proposed. However we have now finally agreed a shortlist for the Professional and Advanced Stage Presidents' awards.

From the shortlist below, the winner of the Presidents’ Award – Professional Stage 2015 and the Presidents’ Award – Advanced Stage 2015 will be announced during the Northern Society Dinner on 16 October 2015:

  • Presidents' Award - Professional Stage 2015 shortlist
  • Michael Burke – National Audit Office
  • Ashleigh Jackson – National Audit Office
  • Beth Rogerson – Saint & Co, Chartered Accountants
  • Whitney Savage – Armstrong Watson
  • Leanne Smith – EY
  • Matthew Spears – Nickalls & Co
  • Presidents' Award - Advanced Stage 2015 shortlist
  • Rachel Brown – Deloitte
  • Thomas Burt – Kenneth Easby, Chartered Accountants
  • Thomas Carson – EY
  • Rachel Farrer – PwC
  • Liam Ford – National Audit Office
  • Dawn O’Neill – EY

Northern Society BASE Mentor of the Year 2015 shortlist

BASE is ICAEW's National Business and Accounting competition for students in school or college aged 16-19. BASE is tremendously popular with schools but relies upon many Northern Society ICAEW members and ACA students who volunteer their time to act as a BASE Judge or to Mentor the teams.

This award was judged by those individuals who served as a BASE judge at the 3 heats of BASE that took place in the Northern Society area in 2015 (one each in Tyne & Wear, Cumbria and Teesside) and the Northern Society President.

The winner of Northern Society BASE Mentor of the Year Award 2015 will be announced during the dinner on 16 October 2015. The mentors shortlisted are:

  • Linda Collins - Armstrong Watson
  • Craig Hart - Aspire Technology Solutions
  • Sam Hill - Clarke's Chartered Accountants

Northern Society Order of Merit awards 

We will also present our Order of Merit awards to the Northern Society student who achieved the highest marks in the ICAEW exams. The winners of all the awards will be announced on the night and will receive their awards from Andrew Ratcliffe, ICAEW President and myself.

I look forward to seeing you all at the Civic Centre on Friday 16 October for an evening of celebration of chartered accountants in the Northern Society.

Book your place

There are still places available to book, please contact Joanne Lucking for more information.

Rob Tindle
President Northern Society of Chartered Accountants