ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Sir Christopher Hogg awarded ICAEW honorary membership

5 June 2013

Sir Christopher Hogg awarded ICAEW honorary membership
ICAEW has today presented Sir Christopher Hogg with honorary membership in recognition of his contribution to the accountancy profession and UK business.

Sir Christopher is recognised not just for his work as chairman of the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) and advisor to the original Cadbury Committee, but also for his contribution to the prosperity of UK plc through his distinguished career in business.

Presenting the honorary membership to Sir Christopher, ICAEW President Martyn Jones, said: “Sir Christopher has made a tremendous contribution to both the accountancy profession and UK plc. Not only has he led the Financial Reporting Council with drive but he has helped shape the accountancy profession and corporate governance framework for UK listed companies and major audit firms”.

Sir Christopher said: “I am delighted to be associated in this way with such a professional and respected organisation.”

A graduate of Trinity College, Oxford, Sir Christopher has an MBA from Harvard. He began his career in industry with Courtaulds, the textiles and chemicals company, in 1968, where he later became chairman and CEO. From 1984, he was chairman of the Reuters Group for two decades and has also held various non-executive chairmanships.

In January 2006, Sir Christopher succeeded Sir Bryan Nicholson as the chairman of the FRC. His chairmanship is widely recognised as being characterised by a common-sense and practical approach to corporate governance and regulatory oversight of the accounting profession.

Honorary membership of ICAEW was created in 2006 and is awarded to those individuals who have made significant contributions to the accountancy profession or to the finance or business world, who have achieved professional or academic prominence in ICAEW-related disciplines, or have made a significant contribution to ICAEW’s work.

Sir Christopher joins HRH The Prince of Wales, Sir Adrian Cadbury, Wang Jun, Chinese Vice Minister of Finance, Professor Stephen Zeff and Sir Bryan Nicholson as ICAEW honorary members.