ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

About the ACA

Your guide to the integrated components of the ACA qualification - review the knowledge, skills and experience you need to become an ICAEW Chartered Accountant

The ACA qualification improves your ability and performance in seven key areas

  • Adding value
  • Consideration
  • Decision making
  • Problem solving
  • Team working
  • Technical competence
  • Communication
Student support team

Our dedicated student support team is on hand to help and advise you throughout your training.

Student registration

Register as an ACA student so you can book for your assessments


The ICAEW chartered accountancy qualification, the ACA, is one of the most advanced learning and professional development programmes available. Its integrated components provide you with an in-depth understanding across accountancy, finance and business. Combined, they help build the technical knowledge, professional skills and practical experience needed to become an ICAEW Chartered Accountant.

How it works

An overview of all the information you need to successfully complete the ACA qualification.

Professional development

ICAEW Chartered Accountants are known for their professionalism and expertise. Professional development will prepare you to successfully handle a variety of different situations that you’ll encounter throughout your career.

The ACA qualification improves your ability and performance in seven key areas:

  • adding value
  • communication
  • consideration
  • decision making
  • problem solving
  • team working
  • technical competence
Ethics and professional scepticism

Ethics is more than just knowing the rules around confidentiality, integrity, objectivity and independence. It’s about identifying ethical dilemmas, understanding the implications and behaving appropriately. We integrate ethics throughout the ACA qualification to develop your ethical capabilities – so you’ll always know how to make the right decisions and justify them.

3-5 years practical work experience

Practical work experience is done as part of a training agreement with one of our 2,850 authorised training employers around the world. You need to complete 450 days, which normally takes between three and five years. The knowledge, skills and experience you gain as part of your training agreement are invaluable, giving you the opportunity to put what you’re learning into practice.

15 accountancy, finance and business modules

Each of the ACA modules is directly relevant to the work that you do on a day-to-day basis. You will gain in-depth knowledge across a broad range of topics in accountancy, finance and business.

There are 15 modules over three levels – Certificate, Professional and Advanced Level. They can be taken in any order with the exception of the Case Study which has to be attempted last. You must pass every exam (or receive credit) – there are no options. This ensures that once qualified, all ICAEW Chartered Accountants have a consistent level of knowledge, skills and experience.

ACA exams