ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

London ICAEW Council election winners

Did you vote in the ICAEW Council elections? See whether your favourite candidate won one of the London seats.


March 2019

As London Accountant went to press, the votes in the London ICAEW Council elections were being counted by the Electoral Reform Services.

The vote closed on 25 February 2019 at noon. There were 14 candidates for the 10 London seats contested.

Council is the ultimate governing body for ICAEW. Council members are prominent ambassadors for ICAEW, networking with peers and lending their voice to help influence and develop the profession. Council elections are held every two years for representatives to be elected for a four-year period.

For the first time, ICAEW Council elections were held by Single Transferable Vote (STV). This means voters have an opportunity to vote for as many or as few members as they wish, in an order of preference. STV is arguably a more representative and inclusive voting system that gives voters greater choice in choosing their representatives. It ensures that candidates with the broadest appeal, even if not the first choice for many constituents, are more likely to win a seat. These changes approved by ICAEW Council in 2018, aim to empower and engage our members in ICAEW governance.

London Accountant

Go to London Accountant for more features, news and opinion.
Follow us on Twitter @ICAEW_London and join us on LinkedIn: LSCA and Croydon.
Subscribe to ‘regional updates’ to receive more articles.