ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Annual Reception 2017

The 2017 Corporate Finance Faculty Annual Reception took place on Thursday 12 October at Lancaster House.

"I have come from my house to your palace.”

Queen Victoria to the Duchess of Sutherland on arriving at Lancaster House.

The 2017 Corporate Finance Faculty’s Annual Reception brought together, by invitation, senior representatives of the faculty’s many members and contributors from business, advisory, investment, government, academia and from other major representative bodies for a highly enjoyable evening in the heart of London.

Lancaster House

The Annual Reception took place on the evening of Thursday 12th October 2017 in the beautiful setting of Lancaster House. The Grade I listed building close to St James’s Palace, managed by the Foreign & Commonwealth Office. Over many years it has been the venue for receptions and speeches by many world statesmen and women. 

Our guest speaker

Dr Ruth McKernan CBE

This year’s Annual Reception, hosted by David Petrie, Head of Corporate Finance at ICAEW, and Mark Pacitti, Chairman of the Corporate Finance Faculty, looked forward to how corporate finance will play a part in future business growth, technological change and international opportunities.

The Corporate Finance Faculty was delighted to welcome Dr Ruth McKernan CBE, Chief Executive of Innovate UK, the government’s innovation agency as its guest speaker. Since 2010, Innovate has supported 8,000 enterprises and invested £1.5bn. It also engages with business via its extensive Knowledge Transfer Network and its programme of Catapult centres.


2017 Annual Reception award winners

The Corporate Development Award was given to Chris Hunt, Group M&A Director at Rentokil Initial plc. The award recognises a London-listed company whose strategy has made the most effective use of M&A to grow, and increase shareholder value. The FTSE-100 company is the first award winner from the business services sector. 

This year, the most successful students from each of the two most recent sittings of the Diploma in Corporate Finance, were Charalampos Marinos, Eurobank, Faris Maqdah, and Nick Hawkins, Grant Thornton. 




Photographer: Errol Jones - Weshoot London

String Quartet: Royal College of Music

Further information

  • For more information about the Annual Reception, please contact Owen Waite