ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Corporate Reporting Faculty Board and Committees

The Corporate Reporting Faculty maintains a number of Boards and Committees to guide our work interacting with regulators, standard setters and legislators. This page provides information about the Boards and Committees that support our technical work.

Members volunteer their time and play a key role in ensuring that we sustain a strong reputation and influence with those who set the standards and law that shapes our members’ work.

As a professional body working in the public interest ICAEW helps legislators and standard setters to assess the impact of their proposals on businesses and the economy. This technical work is a core activity for ICAEW. To help us to do it we have significant support from many members who volunteer their time to serve on our boards and committees as well as supporting our work in other ways.

The experience and expertise that members bring helps us provide informed comments to standard setters, regulators and government.

The Corporate Reporting Faculty is overseen by a board that is responsible for the services the faculty provides to members and for shaping ICAEW technical policy in its area of specialism.

The Corporate Reporting Faculty helps guide members through the current and emerging reporting requirements and provides them with high quality, up-to-date guidance and online resources. The faculty is also responsible for formulating ICAEW policy on financial reporting issues and makes submissions to standard setters and other external bodies on behalf of ICAEW.

Corporate Reporting Faculty Board & Committee Membership

Corporate Reporting Faculty Board

The faculty is managed by the Head of Faculty, Dr Nigel Sleigh-Johnson, working with the faculty Board, chaired by Steve Brice, Partner at Mazars. The Board works with the Head of Faculty to determine priorities and direct operations.

It delegates responsibility for particular tasks and functions to sub-committees and working parties as it sees fit. It meets at least quarterly. Members of the Board have been actively involved in the development of the faculty to date.

Steven Brice FCA (Vice Chair), Partner, Mazars

Anthony Appleton, ACA, Partner, BDO

Mei Ashelford, FCA, Director of Reporting Intelligence at Gather

Sarah Flint, FCA, Partner, Benee Consulting

Chris Haworth, FCA, Commissioners' Advisory Accountant, HMRC

Simon Kettlewell, FCA, Director, HAT

Eunice McAdam, Partner, Saffery Champness

Giles Mullins, FCA, UK Head of Financial Accounting Advisory Services

Sophie Parkhouse, FCA, Partner, Albert Goodman

Sallie Pilot - Senior Advisor

Kern Roberts - Managing Director, Chatham Financial

Andrew Spooner, FCA, Partner, Deloitte

Daniel Thompson, Group FP&A Director

Alex Williams, ACA, Senior Associate, Ambridge Group

Financial Reporting Committee (FRC)

The FRC is responsible for the development of ICAEW policy on financial reporting issues and ensures ICAEW authoritatively reflects the views of members. The committee sits under the faculty Board, but retains technical independence.

Find out more about the FRC.

Committee membership

Jake Green, FCA (Chair), Partner, KPMG

Avni Mashru, CA, (Deputy Chair), Partner, PwC

Anthony Appleton, BA ACA, Partner, BDO

Phil Barden ACA, Partner, Deloitte

Jo Clube ACA, Director, Aviva Plc

Larissa Connor, ACA, Technical Director, EY

Steve Cooper, FCCA, Consultant

Karen Gardner, FCA, Advisory Accountant, HMRC

Andrew Jones, FCA, CFA, Consultant, Mazars

Catriona Lawrie, ICAS, Director, Mazars

Liz Murrall, FCA, Director, The Investment Association

Peter Nichol, FCA, Partner, Horsfield & Smith

Chris Nobes, ACCA, Professor, University of London

Tessa Park, FCA, Partner, Moore Kingston Smith

Ken Rigelsford, FCA, Consultant

Grant Robinson, ACA, Financial Risk and Corporate Reporting Manager, Shell International

Matthew Stallabrass, FCA, Partner, Crowe U.K

Danielle Stewart OBE, FCA, FCCA, FRSA, FAIA (Hons), Partner, RSM

Michael Stewart, FCA, Senior Expert, Huawei

Brendan van der Hoek, FCA, Technical Accounting Lead, Santander

Andrew Watchman, FCA, Director, Grant Thornton

Andrea Allocco, Partner, PwC (Interim Committee member)

Non-Financial Reporting Committee (NFRC)

The NFRC is responsible for the development of ICAEW policy on non-financial and reporting issues and ensures ICAEW authoritatively reflects the views of members. The committee sits under the faculty Board, but retains technical independence.

The committee is chaired by Amanda Swaffield, director in Deloitte’s National Accounting and Audit team. The NFRC currently comprises of 10 members that range from academia, members in practice and independent advisors. The committee meets approximately five times per year but is flexible according to the ongoing policy work.

Mei Ashelford, FCA, Director, Brunswick Group Advisory

Dr Yasmine Chahed, Senior Advisor and Research Consultant

Matthew Chapman, ACA, Director of Wider Corporate Reporting, KPMG ISG

Jo Clube, ACA, Director, Aviva Plc

Larissa Connor, ACA, Technical Director, Ernst & Young

Tiaan Fourie, CA(SA), Director, RSM

Laura Gardner, Associate Director, Grant Thornton

Max Greenwood, CA, Senior Finance Advisor, HM Treasury

Andrew Jones, FCA, CFA, Director of Narrative Reporting, Mazars

Frederic Larquetoux, Partner, BDO

Oliver Law, ACA, Senior Manager, PwC

Janice Lingwood, Consulting Director, Superunion

Amanda Swaffield, FCA, Director, Deloitte

Corporate Reporting Editorial Board

The Corporate Reporting Editorial Board works with faculty staff to ensure that factsheets and other publications are relevant, reliable and understandable. The team of expert volunteers, chaired by Phil Barden of Deloitte, bring a wealth of experience from a variety of backgrounds. They ensure that factsheets combine technical accuracy and practical tips, designed to ease the burden of keeping pace with an ever changing and complex financial reporting environment.

Board Membership

Biane Aliyar, ACA, Manager, Menzies

Phil Barden, ACA, Partner, Deloitte

Sunil Bhavnani, FCA, Director, Blick Rothenberg

Robert Carroll, FCA,  Director, Deloitte

Irina Cheburdanidze, ACA, Senior Manager, Johnston Carmichael

Jean-Maré Franklin, FCA, CA(SA) BFP, Technical accounting consultant and trainer

Karen Gardner, FCA, Advisory Accountant, HMRC

Jessica Howard, FCA, Director, Mazars

Jane Hurworth, ACA, Associate Partner, EY

Julia Loveland, FCA, Senior Manager, Grant Thornton

Ishana Mahadea, CA (SA) Senior Manager, Evelyn Partners

Mike Metcalf, FCA, Consultant

Paul Merris, ACA, Partner, RSM UK

Deepa Raval, FCA, Director, Narrative and Sustainability Reporting, Deloitte

David Rice, ACA, CA, (SA), Senior Manager, KPMG

Bhavita Shah, Head of Audit & Assurance, Aventus Partners & KNAV UK The Quintessential Auditor

Moses Serfaty, FCA, Director, BDO