ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Continue reading

ICAEW / CAAV annual dinner 2019

The annual dinner this year was hosted by the CAAV at the Farming Club on 16th April. Geoff Coster (President), David Brooks (Senior Vice President), Andrew Thomas (Junior Vice President) and Jeremy Moody (Secretary and Adviser) represented the CAAV, Aloysia Daros (chairman), David Missen (SME), Liz Peters and Will Nixey made up the team for the ICAEW Farming and Rural Business Community Group.

Over a delightful meal discussion covered a range of subjects again raising more questions than answers, a natural consequence of the uncertainties surrounding Brexit. The agenda for this year covered post Brexit farm economics and taxation, the definitions of Agriculture for income tax and IHT post Brexit, agricultural land prices post Brexit, Tenancy Disposal Issues, the new Structures and Buildings Allowance and current APR/BPR issues. Most of the discussion centred on Brexit.

The discussions here were wide ranging with several questions and observations raised including the following: