ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ACA dates and deadlines

ACA Professional and Advanced Level exam dates, results dates and exam booking deadlines.

Visit the Level 4 Accounting Technician page or Level 7 Accountancy Professional page for key dates and deadlines.

Exam system status

Remember to frequently check our dedicated exam system status page for all the latest exam updates which may affect you.

ACA dates and deadlines

You only have a limited time to book your place as exams are booked on a first come, first-served basis – so it is essential that you plan ahead. Make sure you know the date exam bookings open and close. All the dates you need for 2022 are also included in this year’s ACA planner.

We cannot accept late bookings or changes to an exam application after the booking deadline and any errors or omissions cannot be corrected after the booking deadline.

Professional Level 

2022

Session open date Session closing date Date of exam Results released
Monday 24 January, 10:00 (UK-time) Monday 31 January, 17:00 (UK-time) 07, 08, 09 March Thursday 14 April
Tuesday 19 April, 10:00 (UK-time) Tuesday 26 April, 17:00 (UK-time) 06, 07, 08 June Friday 15 July
Thursday 21 July, 10:00 (UK-time) Wednesday 27 July, 17:00 (UK-time) 05, 06, 07 September Friday 14 October 
Monday 17 October, 10:00 (UK-time) Monday 24 October, 17:00 (UK-time) 05, 06, 07 December Friday 20 January 2023

2023

Session open date Session closing date Date of exam Results released
Monday 23 January, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 3 February, 17:00 (UK-time) 13, 14, 15 March Friday 21 April
Monday 24 April, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 28 April, 17:00 (UK-time) 05, 06, 07 June Friday 14 July
Thursday 20 July, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 28 July, 17:00 (UK-time) 04, 05, 06 September Friday 13 October
Monday 16 October, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 27 October, 17:00 (UK-time) 04, 05, 06 December Friday 19 January 2024

March1, June, September and December exam sessions

Monday AM Audit and Assurance;
PM Financial Accounting and Reporting – IFRS2
Financial Accounting and Reporting – UK GAAP2
 
Tuesday
AM Tax Compliance
PM

Business Planning: Banking3– Not available in March

Business Planning: Insurance3– Not available in March

Business Planning: Taxation3

Wednesday
AM Business Strategy and Technology
PM Financial Management

1 March: A limited number of exam venues open during the March session.

2 Financial Accounting and Reporting: You are required to sit and pass one of these exams. Please ensure that you apply for the correct exam.

3 Business Planning: you are required to sit and pass one of these exams, either the banking, insurance or taxation version. Please ensure that you apply for the correct exam.

Advanced Level

2022

Session open date Session closing date Date of exam Results released
Monday 16 May, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 27 May, 17:00 (UK-time) 18, 19, 20 July Friday 26 August
Monday 12 September, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 23 September, 17:00 (UK-time) 07, 08, 09 November Friday 16 December

Advance Information

Session Exam Release date
July Case Study Tuesday 7 June
July Corporate Reporting Monday 20 June
November Case Study Tuesday 27 September
November Corporate Reporting Monday 10 October

2023

Session open date Session closing date Date of exam Results released
Monday 22 May, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 2 June, 17:00 (UK-time) 17, 18, 19 July Friday 25 August
Monday 11 September, 10:00 (UK-time) Friday 22 September, 17:00 (UK-time) 06, 07, 08 November Friday 15 December

July and November exam sessions

Monday AM Corporate Reporting
Tuesday AM Strategic Business Management
Wednesday
AM Case Study

Please note: ICAEW reserves the right to vary examination dates, deadlines and times. Timetables for exams held outside the UK will vary, please check your admission details for confirmation.