ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ACA dates and deadlines

ACA Professional and Advanced Level exam dates, results dates and exam booking deadlines.

Coronavirus Update

Visit our qualifications hub for the latest qualifications, exams and training updates and the provisions we have made in response to the Coronavirus pandemic. 

2020 ACA dates and deadlines 

You only have a limited time to book your place as exams are booked on a first come, first-served basis – so it is essential that you plan ahead. Make sure you know the date exam bookings open and close.

We cannot accept late bookings or changes to an exam application after the booking deadline and any errors or omissions cannot be corrected after the booking deadline.

Professional Level

Session open date  Session closing date  Date of exam  Results released 
Monday 06 January
Friday 31 January
09, 10, 11 March
Friday 17 April
Monday 29 June
Friday 31 July
07, 08, 09 September
Friday 16 October
Monday 28 September
Friday 30 October
07, 08, 09 December
Friday 22 January 2021

March1, September and December 2020 session

Monday  AM  Audit and Assurance 
PM Financial Accounting and Reporting – IFRS2
Financial Accounting and Reporting – UK GAAP2
 
Tuesday
 AM Tax Compliance
 PM

Business Planning: Banking3 – Not available in March

Business Planning: Insurance3 – Not available in March

Business Planning: Taxation3

Wednesday
 AM Business Strategy and Technology
 PM Financial Management

1 March: A limited number of exam venues open during the March session.

2 Financial Accounting and Reporting: You are required to sit and pass one of these exams. Please ensure that you apply for the correct exam.

3 Business Planning: you are required to sit and pass one of these exams, either the banking, insurance or taxation version. Please ensure that you apply for the correct exam. 

Advanced Level

Session open date
Session closing date  Date of exam
Results released
Monday 15 June
Friday 17 July
24, 25, 26 August
Friday 02 October
Tuesday 01 September
Friday 25 September
02, 03, 04 November
 Friday 11 December

August and November 2020 sessions

Monday AM  Corporate Reporting 
Tuesday AM Strategic Business Management
Wednesday
AM  Case Study
 

2021 ACA dates and deadlines 

Professional Level

Session open date Session closing date Date of exam Results released
Monday 04 January
Friday 29 January
08, 09, 10 March
Friday 16 April
Monday 29 March
Friday 30 April
07, 08, 09 June
Friday 16 July
Monday 28 June
Friday 30 July
06, 07, 08 September
Friday 15 October
Monday 27 September
Friday 29 October
06, 07, 08 December
Friday 21 January 2021

Advanced Level

Session open date
Session closing date Date of exam
Results released
Monday 10 May
Friday 11 June
19, 20, 21 July
Friday 27 August
Tuesday 31 August
Friday 24 September
01, 02, 03 November
Friday 10 December

Please note: ICAEW reserves the right to vary examination dates, deadlines and times. Timetables for exams held outside the UK will vary, please check you admission details for confirmation.