## ICAEW South Wales District Society ('DS') Annual General Meeting, Friday 17<sup>th</sup> June 2022 at 4pm – online meeting

**Attendees:** Jared Davies (hereafter referred to as 'JD'), 2022/23 DS President; Mark Etchells, 2022/23 DS Deputy President; Suzy Lloyd, 2022/23 DS Vice President; Lloyd Carr, ICAEW Wales Regional Exec; Andrew Morgan, DS Treasurer; Anne Smith, Kara Williams, Andrew Williams, Leighton Reed (all DS Committee members); plus other members whose details were not noted.

## **Minutes**

- President's opening remarks. Jared Davies, 2022/23 DS President, welcomed members and opened
  the online meeting. It was noted that this was the second attempt at the AGM, as the previous face to
  face meeting, on Thursday 19<sup>th</sup> May 2022, had not quite reached quoracy. No quoracy limit applied to
  this second meeting (minimum of 1 person required). JD would chair as Nick Rowe was absent.
- 2. **Apologies for absence.** Nick Rowe, 2021/22 president (and honorary secretary 22/23); Robert Lloyd Griffiths, ICAEW Wales Director.
- 3. **President's address.** JD summarised the points that Nick Rowe had made at the face to face AGM meeting on 18<sup>th</sup> May 2022, reflecting on his 18 months in office as DS President.
- 4. To confirm the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 27<sup>th</sup> May 2021. Minutes were approved and seconded.
- To adopt the accounts for the year ended 31<sup>st</sup> December 2021. Accounts were adopted and seconded.
- 6. To transact any District Society business.
  - The DS President, Deputy President, Vice President, Honorary Secretary and Treasurer were installed for 2022/2023 (Jared Davies, Mark Etchells, Suzy Lloyd, Nick Rowe and Andrew Morgan respectively)
  - It was noted that no motions/notices had been received from members
- 7. **AGM concluded with AoB.** JD addressed the meeting as the new President for 2022/23. Key points discussed:
  - Thanks to outgoing President, Nick Rowe, Committee and Exec Officers
  - Thanks to new ICAEW staff team Robert Lloyd Griffiths and Lloyd Carr
  - Honour at joining Committee Exec in 2019 and now becoming President
  - Goals for year getting people back in the room and networking, EG at members in business
    events and practitioners' conference, summer members BBQ, golf events, younger members
    events, annual dinner, sustainability conference etc
  - Theme for presidential year sustainability
  - Thanks to all members attending and meeting closed