ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Shropshire Society of Chartered Accountants

The Society was formed in 1990 to bring together chartered accountants who worked or lived in the county of Shropshire to provide an opportunity for members to have an effective medium for the exchange of views and to meet socially.

We still aim to provide a focal point for members in the county and are a branch of the ICAEW Staffs, Salop and Wolverhampton District Society. The District Society is represented on the governing Council of ICAEW, and contributes to ICAEW’s policy formulation.

All members of ICAEW working or living in Shropshire would be made very welcome should they choose to become involved in the branch by participating in any of our meetings or activities which may be of interest.

Benefits of participating in the Shropshire Society

  • Meeting other members of the Institute working or living in the county, in practice or in business;
  • Participating in discussion groups;
  • Attending occasional social events with partners; and
  • Becoming involved in the process of governance and policy making for ICAEW.

Discussion groups

Please let us know if you would be interested in forming a discussion group in your area. Contact richard@durrantandcompany.com

Social events

We organise events for members, ranging from CPD courses, social events to discussion groups, as well as representing the interests of chartered accountants in the district to the wider business community. Visit our ICAEW Events page to see what is going on in your area.

Committee meetings

These are held 4 times a year, usually on a Wednesday evening. All local members are welcome to attend and will be rewarded with food and drink in return for helping to shape the agenda for the society. We also hold an Annual General Meeting in May. This takes the form of a social event with a different venue each year.


President: Martin Jones
Vice-President: Neil Phillips
Treasurer: Helen Bruce
Secretary: Richard Durrant

Committee members

Daniel Clark
Sally Currin
Mike Robins