ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.


Find out more about the law on discrimination with our selection of articles, links and guides to best practice and regulation.

The Equality Act 2010 replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single Act. Under the Act there are nine protected characteristics and we have collated resources related to each one of the nine:

Discrimination and the law


Overview of the law regarding discrimination under the Equality Act 2010 and the nine protected characteristics.

Equality Act guidance

Equality and Human Rights Commission

Guidance on the Equality Act 2010 from the EHRC. Guidance is provided for different groups including employers, employees and service users and providers.

Equality act 2010: guidance

Government Equalities Office, Equality and Human Rights Commission February 2013, updated January 2015

Government Information and guidance on the Equality Act 2010, including age discrimination and public sector Equality Duty.

Equality and discrimination


Guidance on equality and discrimination in the workplace, with a range of practical resources on the Equality Act 2010.

The Equality Act 2010

HM Government 2010

Full text of the Act as enacted and revised, with explanatory notes.