## ICAEW BIRMINGHAM AND WEST MIDLANDS Annual General Meeting – Monday, 11 May 2020

Minutes of the 138th Annual General Meeting held virtually on Monday, 11 May 2020 at 5.15pm Present: Clive Bawden (Chair) Committee members: Celia Adams, John Bezzant, Will Buggey, Amy Burton, Linda Conway, Andrew Coulson, Katie Giles, Tracey James, Khuram Javed, Gemma Jones, Chris Key, Jas Khela, Steph Mersh, Ben Powell and Louise Rudd. Non-Committee members: Joanna Drinkwater, Joyce Elliott, Leanne England, Harriett Lawson, David Thompson and Liz Whitfield. Proxy voting form received from: Natasha Bourne. **WELCOME** Clive welcomed everyone to the meeting. 1. NOTICE The notice convening the meeting was taken as read. 2. APOLOGIES Nathasha Bourne, Sophie Dale-Black, Craig Edmondson, Jon Gilpin, Sheilagh Moffat and Vipul Sheth. 3. MINUTES Clive announced that the minutes of the 137th Annual General Meeting held on Monday 20 May 2019 had been issued. Gemma proposed and Andrew seconded that the minutes were a true record of the last Annual General Meeting. An unanimous show of hands declared the minutes approved. 4. ANNUAL REPORT Clive announced that the President's report for 2019-20 had been published on the District Society website. Andrew proposed and Jas seconded the acceptance of the report. An unanimous show of hands declared the report accepted. 5. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS Clive announced that the Financial Statements of the Society for the year ended 31 December 2019 had been published on the District Society website and circulated to attendees. Ben Powell, Treasurer, added that the Society was showing a £886 deficit for the year. Clive proposed the resolution that the Financial Statements be received and adopted. Will seconded the resolution. An unanimous show of hands declared the resolution passed. 6. ELECTIONS TO THE COMMITTEE Clive announced that in accordance with amended Rule 7 six members of the Committee retired at the Annual General Meeting. John Bezzant ● Amy Burton ● Helen Drew ● Craig Edmondson ● Steph Mersh ● Sam Phipps Helen did not wish to be re-elected and therefore retired from the Committee. On behalf of the Committee Clive thanked Helen for the fantastic contribution she had made to the Society. Sam did not wish to be re-elected, but would remain on the Committee as a co-opted member. There were 14 vacancies available on the Committee and nominations for 6 of these vacancies had been received from: John Bezzant ● Amy Burton ● Craig Edmondson ● Steph Mersh ● Will Buggey ● Leanne England. Clive proposed that these members be elected/re-elected on to the Committee, and Tracey seconded the approval. An unanimous show of hands declared the elections approved.

7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS  a) To appoint the Independent Examiners  Clive proposed that a vote of thanks be passed to the Society's Independent Examiner J W Hinks, Ben seconded the proposal. An unanimous show of hands approved the proposal.	
Clive reported that J W Hinks had agreed to be elected as Independent Examiners of the Society, for the forthcoming year.	
Clive thanked the members of the Committee for their time and commitment to the Society, and the non-Committee members for joining the meeting. He then declare the meeting closed at 5.21pm	