# ICAEW BIRMINGHAM AND WEST MIDLANDS

Annual General Meeting - Monday, 16 May 2022

Minutes of the 140<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held virtually on Monday 16 May 2022.

Present: Andrew Coulson (Chair)

Celia Adams, John Bezzant, Linda Conway, Jo Drinkwater, Craig Edmondson, Tracey James, Khuram Javed, Chris Key, Jas Khela, Justin Kyriakou, Harriet Lawson, Sam Phipps, Ben Powell and Louise Rudd.

Non-committee members: Ian Bong, Manpreet Rai and Sheilagh Moffat.

Proxy voting forms received from: Martin Adams, Ben Allman, Daniel Anderton, Syd Barhey, Cieran Ball, Stuart Drinkwater, Gemma Jones, James Maynell, Rajnesh Mittal, Liz Peters, Ben Robinson, Paul Rudge, Mark Skellum, James Syree and Phil Waller.

#### WELCOME

Andrew welcomed everyone to the meeting.

### 1. NOTICE

The notice convening the meeting was taken as read.

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Syd Barhey, Clive Bawden, Josie Hart, Gemma Jones and Liz Whitfield. Plus non-committee members Ian Bowland and Alan Dale.

#### 3. MINUTES

Andrew announced that the minutes of the 139<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held on Monday, 17 May 2021 had been posted on the website and issued to the committee.

Ben proposed and Jo seconded that the minutes were a true record of the last Annual General Meeting. An unanimous show of hands declared the minutes approved.

# 4. ANNUAL REPORTS

Andrew announced that the President's report for 2021-22 would be published shortly on the website and had been circulated to the committee. He outlined the report, thanking the committee members and regional team for their support.

Jo proposed and Ben seconded the acceptance of the report. An unanimous show of hands declared the report accepted.

# 5. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Andrew announced that the Financial Statements of the Society for the year ended 31 December 2021 had been published on the website and circulated to the committee. JW Hinks had approved the statements.

Tracey reported that due to all activities moving to virtual limited expenses had been incurred. The main expense was for the sponsorship of the BCASS ball and Women in Tech awards. Income had been received for Essentials royalties, ICAEW grants and CAPET grant for examination prizes.

Going forward a decision about the Hereford and Warwickshire accumulated funds would need to be made as it was unlikely that these groups would be reactivated.

Andrew proposed the resolution that the Financial Statements be received and adopted. Celia seconded the resolution. An unanimous show of hands declared the resolution passed.

#### 6. ELECTIONS TO THE COMMITTEE

Andrew announced that in accordance with amended Rule 7 six members of the committee retired at the Annual General Meeting. These were:

• Clive Bawden • Tracey James • Khuram Javed • Chris Key • Ben Powell • Vipul Sheth

There were 14 vacancies available on the committee and nominations for 8 of these vacancies had been received from: Clive Bawden, Syd Barhey, Tracey James, Khuram Javed, Chris Key, Ben Powell, Manpreet Rai and Vipul Sheth.

Andrew proposed that these members be elected/re-elected on to the committee, and Jo seconded the proposal. An unanimous show of hands declared the elections approved.

Linda to arrange for new committee members Syd Barhey and Manpreet Rai to meet with the new BMWSCA President Ben Powell, to learn more about the DS and how they would like to support the committee going forward.	LC
7. ANY OTHER BUSINESS	
a) To appoint the Independent Examiners	
Andrew proposed that a vote of thanks be passed to the Society's Independent Examiner J W Hinks,	
Tracey seconded the proposal. An unanimous show of hands approved the vote of thanks.	
Andrew reported that J W Hinks had agreed to be elected as Independent Examiners of the Society for the forthcoming year.	
b) DS community update	
Andrew gave a brief update on the ICAEW community pilot, adding that BWMSCA would be entering into a combined West Midlands community with SSWSCA.	
A working party with members from both BWMSCA and SSWSCA would be set up to look at how the	
combined community could work in the future.	
Andrew thanked the members of the Committee for their time and commitment to the Society, then	
declare the meeting closed at 5.15pm	