ICAEW STAFFS, SALOP AND WOLVERHAMPTON Annual General Meeting – 19 May 2020

Minutes of the 44th Annual General Meeting held virtually on Tuesday, 19 May 2020 at 5pm.	
Present: Neil Phillips (Chair)	
Board members: Helen Arthur, Chris Beeston, Paul Brindley, John Capper, Linda Conway, Sophie Dale-Black, James Eyre-Walker and Shaun Philpott.	
Non-Board members: Michael Clarke, Nigel Hinton and David Wheatley	
Proxy voting forms from: Ian Cattell, Sally Currin, Richard Durrant, Martin Jones, Bob Morris, Michael Robins, John Shinton and Roger Stephenson.	
WELCOME Neil welcomed everyone to the meeting, especially the non-Board members.	
Neil reported on his year in office 'I am amazed at how the last year has flown by. I set as a principal goal of my year to improve the level of our engagement with local Universities and their students. Thanks to the support of our committee members and ICAEW colleagues we have had success in strengthening our links with the Universities of Wolverhampton, Keele and Staffordshire and we now need to build on these connections in the future.	
It is encouraging to have seen the increase in recruitment of ICAEW students in our district, reflecting the nationwide picture. The availability of the ICAEW qualification through an apprenticeship has undoubtedly helped to encourage employers take on new trainees and I hope that we will continue to see this trend continue.	
I have made several trips to Chartered Accountants Hall during the year in my role as a member of the group carrying out a review of District Societies. I believe that we all agree that we should seek to increase the level of engagement between members and ICAEW and that District Societies have a vital role to play in promoting the interests of their members and in promoting ICAEW to the wider community.	
My year as District President is closing with our country in the midst of the coronavirus crisis. As chartered accountants we have a key role to play in advising our clients and organisations how to minimise the economic damage caused by the crisis, by helping to steer them through extremely choppy waters. We must also remember that our own members may need support in these tough times and, as well as ICAEW and CABA offering excellent support, members in our district can support each other through a greater sense of working together.	

The growing use of online meeting tools and social media greatly help in improving communication between members and I am very pleased to act as Chair of a new ICAEW Small practice members' virtual meet-up for Staffordshire, Shropshire and Wolverhampton with the first meeting scheduled for 26 May 2020.

This month marks the 100th anniversary of Mary Harris Smith becoming the first female Chartered Accountant. Although we could not proceed with our planned event to celebrate the centenary, I see this as an opportunity to remind ourselves that as a District Society we should always look to promote diversity. Furthermore, as Mary Harris Smith did not gain her membership until the age of 75, we can be inspired by her perseverance and determination in 'never giving up'.

I am very grateful for all of the support I have received from fellow committee members and Linda Conway and Sophie Dale-Black who made me feel that I was always acting as part of a strong team moving forward with positive ideas. I am also grateful to those members who have given many years of service to the committee who have decided this year to step down, in particular past President James Eyre-Walker who has continued to make valued contributions during my year as President.

I look forward to supporting John Capper as our incoming President over the coming year'.

1. NOTICE

Notice convening the meeting was taken as read.

2. APOLOGIES

Ian Cattell, Martin Jones and Roger Stephenson.

3. MINUTES Neil announced that the minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 21 May 2019 had been issued.	
Shaun proposed and John seconded that the minutes were a true record of the last Annual General Meeting. An unanimous show of hands declared the minutes approved.	
4. ANNUAL REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS	
Neil announced that the Report and Financial Statements of the Society for the year ended 31 December 2019 had been published on the District Society website and circulated to attendees.	
In the absence of Treasurer, Roger Stephenson, John reviewed the 2019 accounts.	
Neil proposed the resolution that the Report and Financial Statement be received and adopted. Paul seconded the resolution. An unanimous show of hands declared the resolution passed.	
5. OFFICER HOLDERS FOR 2020/21	
Neil announced the nominations for the Office Holder positions:	
a. President – John Capper	
b. Deputy President – Chris Beeston	
c. Vice President – no nomination	
d. Secretary – no nomination	
e. Treasurer – Roger Stephenson	
Neil proposed and James seconded that these members be appointed. An unanimous show of hands declared the appointments approved.	
Neil announce that James Eyre-Walker and Ian Cattell were standing down from the Board, on behalf of the Board he thanked them for their hard work on behalf of the Society. Special thanks to James who has represented the Society as President 3 times. He had been successful in finding new members to join the Board. James would continue to sit on the National Technical Advisory committee and report back to the Board.	
John in the Chair.	
John talked briefly about his objectives for his presidential year ahead which included the use of technology, acknowledging that accountants needed IT skills and software to assist their clients. He intends to hold some technology themed events, and would also continue the engagement with the universities.	
John added that it was important that the Board had a succession ladder of officer holders for continuity.	
6. ANY OTHER BUSINESS	
a) To appoint the Independent Examiners	
John proposed and James seconded that a vote of thanks be passed to the Society's Independent Examiner Geens. An unanimous show of hands agreed the proposal.	
John to reported that Geens had agreed to be elected as Independent Examiners of the Society, for the forthcoming year.	
John concluded the meeting by thanking the members of the Board for their time and commitment to the Society then declare the meeting closed.	
	1