ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ICAEW elects Vice-President for 2024-25

Author: ICAEW

Published: 20 Dec 2023

Caroline Smale has been elected as ICAEW Vice President for the period 2024 to 2025.

Caroline has been a member of ICAEW Council since 2017, representing the South West. She is currently Chair of the ICAEW Members and Commercial Board and a member of the ICAEW Board.

She has previously served as Vice-President of ICAEW South West and Chair of the ICAEW Practice Committee. 

Caroline leads the Risk and Compliance department at Bishop Fleming, an independent audit, accounting, tax, and advisory firm based in the South West and West Midlands, which she joined as a graduate trainee in 1988. 

Diversity in the accounting profession is important to Caroline, and in her mentoring role within Bishop Fleming she supports female and younger colleagues.

Caroline said:

“I am delighted to be elected Vice-President of ICAEW. I am committed to promoting the work of the Institute and supporting our members, ensuring that ICAEW remains as relevant for the Chartered Accountants of the future.

“My focus will be on continuing to improve the experience and engagement of members, developing the sustainability of the profession, and supporting initiatives in inclusion and diversity.”

Mark Rhys is current President of ICAEW, while Malcolm Bacchus is Deputy President and Derek Blair is Vice President. The presidential handover takes place in June.


Notes to editors:

Contact: ICAEW media office, stephen.froome@icaew.com or 07970 402 073