ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Leeds Chartered Accountants Student Society (LCASS)

LCASS is a prominent student society within Leeds City centre representing students from across a large variety of accounting firms in the area.

About us

Our primary aim is to bring together trainee Chartered Accountants across the city to enhance their networking opportunities. This is primarily through the organisation of social and sporting events throughout the year with our Fall Ball and Annual Dinner bringing over 300 people together in one room!

As we continue to develop our society we hope to bring more development opportunities to our members through workshops held with our sponsors.

Elections are held annually to ensure an upward flow from the student body to the Executive Committee, which is the governing board of the society. There are a variety of roles including Chair, Treasury and Secretary to our event and sponsorship reps. We are always looking for new representatives on the Committee and if you would like to get involved or just get some more information about what we do contact Darren Cassidy.

Our Committee

2019-2020 Committee members

Role Name email
President Alex Leach alex.leach@kaplan.co.uk
Vice President Jack Sunter Jack.Sunter@mazars.co.uk
Chair Harry Booth Harry.Booth@mazars.co.uk
Vice Chair Siobhan Staunton Sykes Siobhan.StauntonSykes@KPMG.co.uk
Treasurer Harry Matthews harry.x.matthews@pwc.com
Treasurer Rob Barnes Rob.Barnes@bdo.co.uk
Secretary Harry Matthews harry.x.matthews@pwc.com
Secretary Milana Yandieva Milana.Yandieva@kpmg.co.uk
Events committee Katy Jones katy.jones@mazars.co.uk
Events committee Louise Allison Louise.Allison@mazars.co.uk
Fall Ball Committee Beth Yelland Beth.Yelland@bdo.co.uk
Fall Ball Committee Becca Wood Becca.Wood@bdo.co.uk
Fall Ball committee Sadjida Carter Sadjida.Carter@bdo.co.uk
Fall ball committee Stacie Nicholls Stacie.Nicholls@bdo.co.uk
ISC Rep Tim Potter timothy.potter@walterdawson.co.uk
Advertisement Rep Tim Potter timothy.potter@walterdawson.co.uk
Media Rep Sadjida Carter sadjida.carter@bdo.co.uk

Firm Representatives

Firm Name email
KPMG Tom Dee Tom.Dee@kpmg.co.uk
PwC Elysia Knapp elysia.h.knapp@pwc.com
EY George Dixon George.Dixon1@uk.ey.com
EY Fiona Sopp Fiona.Sopp@uk.ey.com
EY Alex Nicholls Alex.Nicholls@uk.ey.com
Deloitte Sylvia Fudge sfudge@deloitte.co.uk
Deloitte Francis Farnworth fffarnworth@deloitte.co.uk
Deloitte Ben Dowsing bdowsing@deloitte.co.uk
Deloitte Alex Iles alexanderiles@deloitte.co.uk
Deloitte Matthew Hodges matthewhodges@deloitte.co.uk
Grant Thornton Rosie Brown Rosie.Brown@uk.gt.com
Grant Thornton Jessica Jackson Jessica.L.Jackson@uk.gt.com
Mazaars Elissa Wheat elissa.wheat@mazars.co.uk
BDO See above
RSM Beth Keable Beth.Keable@rsmuk.com
RSM Chloe Sturdy Chloe.Sturdy@rsmuk.com
Small firms Ayesha Ali a.ali@sagars.co.uk
Our sponsors

Marks Sattin

Marks Sattin

Marks Sattin has a proud heritage in supporting ACAs to find their ideal new role following qualification. We are the UK’s largest privately owned dedicated accountancy recruiter, with offices in Birmingham, Dublin, Leeds, London, Manchester and Reading.  With over 25 years’ experience in the market we understand the transitioning process into Industry or making a move to another professional services firm better than most.

In a short space of time, Marks Sattin has established itself as one of the most sought after finance recruitment specialists here in the Yorkshire region. 

With a client bases that includes: 

  • Mars 
  • Nestle 
  • Kellogg's 
  • Reckitt Benckiser 
  • Aviva 
  • Lloyds Banking Group 
  • PWC 
  • Deloitte 
  • KPMG 
  • Ernst & Young 

We are able to support candidates throughout their career from trainee, part qualified and newly qualified accounting jobs through to more experienced and executive positions: 

  • Interim and Executive level jobs - CFO/Director level assignments 
  • Experienced accountants/fully qualified accountancy jobs; ACMA, ACA, ACCA, CIPFA, AMCT, AAT, ICAS, ATT, CTA, IIA 
  • Part qualified CIMA/ACCA accountancy jobs 
  • Temporary & Contract accountancy and finance jobs 

Whether you are seeking a new job opportunity or recruiting in Yorkshire, contact us at leeds@markssattin.com or call 0113 242 8177. 

Michael Page 

 

Michael Page specialises in the permanent, temporary and interim recruitment of qualified accountants. Our organisation was founded to provide selection and recruitment services for accounting professionals and has been a market leader in this field for more than 35 years.

We have earned the trust of clients in industry and commerce, the banking and financial services markets and the public and not-for-profit sector.

Michael Page has pioneered a unique, consultative approach to recruitment, enabling us to find the best fit between our client’s needs and the candidate’s experience and abilities. With an emphasis on delivering results and establishing long-term relationships, our consultants waive commission in favour of quarterly profit share – that means impartial career advice and an entire team pulling together on your behalf.

Many of our consultants have a background in accounting and finance – that’s real, grass roots expertise at your disposal. Combine that with the global reach you get from a company that has over 155 offices in 36 countries and you’re looking at a pretty formidable package.

We are confident no other consultancy is better qualified to help you make that crucial, next step in your career.

Hays

  

With over 400 finance recruitment consultants operating from over 100 offices across the UK, we pride ourselves in finding the right person the right job. As the largest specialist finance recruitment consultancy, we have the nation covered. We can help you wherever you are in your career journey, from Part Qualified to Qualified Accountant to Partner or Finance Director. From CV tips to career planning advice to social media guidance, our consultants are experts in helping you navigate the job market and get the right job for you.

We have over 100 new finance jobs registered every single day, so whether you are looking for an commercial accountant, financial accountant, finance manager role or an audit manager to corporate finance opportunity, your local Hays expert should be able to support you to make the right choice.

To book a CV clinic or find out how we can help your career go further visit hays.co.uk or contact Henry Clarkson, Senior Finance expert at Henry.clarkson@hays.com or 01132003745.

Sharp Consultancy

Sharp consultancy 

Sharp Consultancy is a specialist recruitment group operating across Yorkshire and the North of England with offices in Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester.

Our highly experienced team recruit for temporary, interim and permanent roles across the full spectrum of finance and accounting positions. We work with owner managed businesses, well known regional players and national plcs; our aim is always the same – to seek out and recruit the most talented individuals that will make a real difference to our clients’ business and offer exceptional support to those looking to make their next career move.

We are the founder and organiser of the Young Accountant of the Year Awards, run in conjunction with LCASS every year for nearly 20 years - few businesses have supported, advised and encouraged more chartered accountants through their career plans – helping newly qualified ACA’s work their way through to partnership or CFO roles and beyond.

The business has been growing organically since it was founded in 1992 and our success is built upon the principles of long term relationships and a solutions-orientated approach to recruitment. Now with over 25 employees across our offices in Yorkshire and the North West, we have an unparalleled, specialist understanding of the changing marketplace.

Our team of consultants use their in-depth knowledge and expertise to give the best possible recruitment advice to employers and candidates every step of the way.