ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Guest Speaker Biography

Author: ICAEW

Published: 25 Mar 2024

Gillian Tett OBE is the Guest Speaker for the Annual Dinner 2024.
Gillian Tett

Gillian Tett OBE is an award-winning financial journalist and anthropologist with an unparalleled track record of predicting important global trends.

She called the financial crisis three years ahead of anyone else and was one of the first to recognise and chronicle the developing importance of ESG in business.

Tett has held many positions at the Financial Times, including Chairman of the US Editorial Board and America Editor-at-Large. Her twice-weekly column earned her recognition as Columnist of the Year, Journalist of the Year, and Business Journalist of the Year by the British Press Awards.

In 2004, Gillian began building a team at the Financial Times to cover capital markets, correctly anticipating the need to watch an industry growing uncommonly fast. By 2007, a year ahead of the curve, she began issuing her news breaking warnings of a looming financial crisis. For this prescient work, she received the President’s Medal from The British Academy.

She is a pioneer in the coverage of the continued expansion of sustainable and ethically responsible business practices. In 2019, she founded Moral Money, a journalism vertical at the Financial Times documenting and analysing the new world of socially responsible business, sustainable finance, impact investing, ESG trends, and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals.

She is the bestselling author of titles including Anthro-Vision, The Silo Effect, and Fool’s Gold.

In October 2023, Gillian assumed the role of Provost at King’s College Cambridge with a mission to promote an interdisciplinary view of life while championing British intellectual capital.

In recognition of her work, Gillian has won several awards, including the 2021 Presidents’ Award from the American Anthropological Association, the 2014 Royal Anthropological Institute Marsh Award, the UK Speechwriters’ Guild Business Communicator of the Year in 2012, and the Wincott Prize in 2007.