ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ICAEW Past Presidents 1880-2005

In 1990, the respected accounting historian Peter Boys prepared a series of chronological lists charting the Presidents, Vice Presidents and Deputy Presidents of ICAEW. In December 2005 Peter updated the article and listings as an analysis of presidents at the time of the 125th anniversary of ICAEW.


  • An article looking at ICAEW past presidents, 1880-2005
  • Chronological list of presidents, deputy-presidents and vice-presidents, 1880-2005
  • Chronological list of presidents together with the firms in which they were partners, 1880-2005
  • Analysis of presidents by firm, 1880-2005

Past Presidents

Peter Boys has kindly given the ICAEW Library & Information Service permission to reproduce the updated version of the article and listings on our website and these can be downloaded in PDF format using the link below. This edition was published in 2005, with amendments 2011.

Past Presidents of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, 1880-2005

About the Author

Peter Boys BA FCA graduated from the University of Kent at Canterbury with a first-class honours degree in Accounting. He spent five years with Touche Ross & Co. before becoming a lecturer in accounting at his former University. In 1990 he wrote Chartered Accountants' Hall - the first hundred years. Peter Boys retired in 1999. He has contributed numerous articles to Accountancy, and is especially interested in the history of the accountancy profession.

In 2003 Peter Boys first brought his work to an online audience with What's in a name: Firms' simplified family trees on the web, a popular update to his series of highly praised family trees showing the development of the big accountancy firms of the day.

Following on from the success of this online venture, Peter Boy's intriguing article "The mystery of the missing members: the first 600 Chartered Accountants in England and Wales" was reproduced on the Institute's Accounting History website in early 2004.

See also:
Articles and books by Peter Boys in the collection of the ICAEW Library & Information Service