ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

Reminder: Self assessment payment penalty deadline is 1 March

20 February 2020: the trigger date for late payment penalties for self assessment amounts is a day earlier in 2020 due to the leap year.

Penalties will accrue from 1 March 2020 for payments due on 31 January 2020 (2018/19 tax year). The penalty is 5% of the tax due, but does not apply to payments on account. The penalty can be avoided if a time to pay arrangement is in place by the trigger date.

Businesses that are having tax problems due to flooding may wish to consider contacting HMRC’s flooding helpline: 0800 904 7900 which is open Monday to Friday: 8am to 8pm and Saturday: 8am to 4pm.

If the problem is specifically about difficulty making payment, the numbers to call are 0300 200 3835 (if payment is not yet due) or 0300 200 3822 for self-assessment payments that are overdue.

Agents can call the debt management agent dedicated line on 0300 200 3887.

It is also now possible to set up a self assessment payment plan online if certain eligibility conditions are satisfied.