ICAEW.com works better with JavaScript enabled.

ICAEW Regulatory Board appoints new Chair

Author: ICAEW Insights

Published: 11 Oct 2021

Following an open and competitive recruitment process conducted by the Regulatory and Conduct Appointments Committee, Jenny Watson CBE has been appointed as the new lay chair of the ICAEW Regulatory Board.

Watson brings a wealth of experience to the role, having previously served as chair of the UK Electoral Commission (2009-16), the Independent Complaints Panel at the Portman Group (2013-20) and the Equal Opportunities Commission (2005-07). She also held non-executive roles at the Financial Reporting Council and Financial Ombudsman Service.

The ICAEW Regulatory Board (IRB) is an independent board responsible for oversight of the regulatory and disciplinary work undertaken by ICAEW’s Professional Standards Department, to ensure it is carried out in the public interest.

The board, which has parity of lay and chartered accountant members including the chair, was established to enhance the distinction between ICAEW’s representative and regulatory roles following an independent review of its regulatory governance in 2014.

Watson will join the IRB on 1 November and replaces Michael Caplan QC, who has held the role since the IRB was created in 2015.

Find out more about the ICAEW Regulatory Board here

Recommended content

A megaphone
Stay up to date

You can receive email update from ICAEW insights either daily, weekly or monthly, subscribe to whichever works for you.

Sign up
Daily summaries
Three yellow pins planted into a surface in a row
News in brief

Read ICAEW's daily summary of accountancy news from across the mainstream media and broader financing sector.

See more